• Sun. Jun 16th, 2024

Citizen NewsNG

....news at your finger tip


ByCitizen NewsNG

Jul 27, 2020

President Muhammadu Buhari has named railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after some prominent Nigerians.
Those who received the honour, according to the Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi, are “deserving citizens who contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.”
This was contained in a statement by the Ministry of Transportation on Monday titled ‘Buhari names Railway stations after prominent Nigerians’.
According to the statement by the Ministry’s Director, Press and Public Relations, Eric Ojiekwe, the Minister stated the Apapa Station has been named after National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Asiwaju Bola Tinubu; the Abeokuta Station named after Nobel Laureate, Prof Wole Soyinka while the Ajaokuta Station was conferred on Olusola Saraki, the late father of former Senate President, Bukola Saraki.
Also honoured were: Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station); Babatunde Fashola (Agege Station); Lateef Jakande (Agbado Station); Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola Station); Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto Station); Segun Osoba (Olodo Station) and Micheal Ibru (Opara Station).
Others include: Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio Station); Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan Station); Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre); Adamu Attah (Itakpe Station); Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo Station); George Innih (Agenebode Station); Anthony Enahoro (Uromi Station); Tom Ikimi (Ekehen Station); Samuel Ogbemudia (Igbanke Station); David Ejoor (Abraka Station); Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu Station) and Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor).
The Nation had reported Buhari approved the name of the railway station in Agbor, Delta State, be called Goodluck Jonathan Railway Station and Complex.
Obasanjo missing as Buhari names railway stations after ‘deserving Nigerians’
by The Cable
Ex-President Olusegun Obasanjo is not among the “deserving Nigerians” whom President Muhammadu Buhari has named some railway stations after.
On Monday, Rotimi Amaechi, minister of transportation, announced that the president had given approval that stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and the Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors should be named in honour of some of the nation’s leaders.
Bola Tinubu, a national leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo are among those that stations were named after.
Below is a full list of those who were honoured:
⦁ Mobolaji Johnson/Ebute Metta Station
⦁ Babatunde Fashola/Agege station
⦁ Bola Ahmed Tinubu/Apapa station
⦁ Lateef Jakande/Agbado station
⦁ Yemi Osinbajo/Kajola station
⦁ Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti/Papalanto station
⦁ Wole Soyinka/Abeokuta station
⦁ Segun Osoba/Olodo station
⦁ Ladoke Akintola/Omio-Adio station
⦁ Obafemi Awolowo/Ibadan station
⦁ Adamu Attah/Itakpe station
⦁ Olushola Saraki/Ajaokuta station
⦁ Augustus Aikhomu/Itogbo station
⦁ George Innih/Agenebode station
⦁ Anthony Eromosele Enahoro/Uromi station
⦁ Tom Ikimi/Ekehen station
⦁ Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia/Igbanke station
⦁ Goodluck Ebele Jonathan/Agbor Station Complex
⦁ David Ejoor/Abraka station
⦁ Micheal Ibru/Opara station
⦁ Alfred Rewane/Ujevwu station
⦁ Mike Akhigbe/Railway Village, Agbor
⦁ Alex Ekwueme/Operation Control Centre

By Samuel Oamen


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin